A message from the Chair

Dear PLA Community,

It has been my honor and privilege to serve the Department of Planning and Landscape Architecture as its first Chair over these past four years and as the final Chair of URPL for the two years prior leading up to our merger. Incoming Chair, Professor Alfonso Morales, takes the helm on July 1, and many are likely already familiar with Alfonso’s wide range of interests and excellent reputation as an engaged scholar. I’m grateful to be leaving DPLA in good hands with Alfonso and an outstanding administrative team. After the many challenges of this past year, we are poised to thrive in the months (and years!) ahead with a return to in-person campus life, relevant and exciting research and scholarship, and growing enrollments in our programs and courses. I look forward to your continuing connections with us and your ongoing support of the department.

Ken Genskow, Professor and (Outgoing) DPLA Chair

Dear PLA Community,

I am deeply grateful for the opportunity to serve the community, our students, and colleagues as the new department chair. I hope you will all join me in thanking Ken for his outstanding service to the University, UW Extension, the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and the College of Letters and Sciences in the process of merging the departments. He was joined in this process by a remarkable administrative team. We all owe them ALL a debt of gratitude.

I look forward to making and maintaining connections for several mutually beneficial purposes that we will develop to share our good work around the state, country, and world through the Wisconsin Idea. Your interest in learning about and supporting our work will be central to student learning opportunities, our service, and the research we do. We look forward to reporting to you and more importantly, engaging you to bring your experience to bear in developing the broad community of practice that is the DPLA. On Wisconsin!

Best wishes in all your responsibilities,
Alfonso Morales, Vilas Distinguished Achievement Professor, and (Incoming) Department Chair